Sochi!

Ellie and I recently made our way down to Sochi with some of our friends. Because we can’t make anything simple, we had some slight travelling issues, but we made it!

Image

Now, apparently, I have made quite a name for myself as an absolute fool because many people took the time to tell me that the Olympics have in fact already come to an end. Thanks guys.

Despite not seeing as many events as we’d hoped (hah), we had an absolutely amazing time! We spent an equal amount of time travelling and actually there, but it was well worth it.

On the first night, we went to a lovely restaurant for our latest food obsession, хачапури. If you aren’t familiar with this Georgian bready, cheesy goodness, I suggest you get yourself down to your local Georgian restaurant ASAP and sample as much of it as possible! We ordered so much that we had to take it home with us. It was a real shame.

The next day, we were up bright and early to go up the mountain. We got the train to Красная Поляна and were met by glorious sunshine and beautiful scenery. Image

(After getting a bit weird on the train, of course)

Image

Image

Of course, it wasn’t just on the train that we got a little weird!

The mountains were absolutely stunning, and I got a little snap happy. Image

I know what you’re thinking, snap happy? You? Are you sure?

It’s true.

Image

How can I resist when it’s this beautiful?!

The next day we went to an amazing market by the station. Of course I sampled most things on offer, and ended up purchasing quite a bit of cheese. I’m not really a cheese fan. I’m also relatively allergic, but I do love a good deal!

Image

For some reason, I only took photos of things I didn’t buy. Clever girl!

Image

Except him. I did buy him.

Next, we made our way down to the harbour and found ourselves on a charming little boat.

Image

Isn’t Sochi splendid??

Image

All in all, the weekend was absolutely incredible. We had a wonderful meal after the boat trip before getting on a train to face reality, but it really does deserve a post of it’s own! So, keep your eyes peeled for that, as well as something about Victory Day! (Blogging backlog, it’s a hard life really.)

_MG_7005

Leave a Reply

