We’ve moved!

Anyone that knows Ellie and I will be able to tell you that we haven’t been the happiest of bunnies in our home stays. My host was lovely (if not a little lax with making sure her dressing gown wasn’t gaping open) but I felt awkward and out of place. Not to mention the food was seriously not the one!! Ellie has a worse time with hers – the food was better but her host could be a real pain at times.

It wasn’t unusual to get something like this at 8 am:

20140407-000002.jpg

That’s two days old, by the way.
However we are currently over the moon about our lovely new flat – без хозяек!

20140407-000110.jpg

20140407-000118.jpg

We threw a housewarming party last night and got all dolled up for the occasion. Of course, we took our hosting duties very seriously and so selfie-taking was kept to a minimum. конечно

20140407-000224.jpg

Some were sillier than others…

20140407-000335.jpg

20140407-000350.jpg

We also channeled our inner русские девушки and made some rather cute fruit platters. Drunken блины making completed our transformation. Unfortunately fruit and blinis are not enough to get us fluent…

20140407-000509.jpg

The party was great fun (from what I can remember – I konked out pretty early) I’m not sure whose idea it was to turn drinking Jenga into extreme drinking Jenga. It took a long time to pick all the wax off my floor!!!

All in all a good week for us! Definitely needed after some very exciting/sad/worrying news from home which I will get into at a later date.

In other news, I am setting myself a challenge for now until I leave Russia. I want to try and update my blog a couple times a week so I actually have something to look back on at the end of this!! I also want to compile a “bucket list” for the rest of my time here – it’s mental how little I’ve actually done. S’pose I should add my year abroad essays to that list really…

Leave a Reply

