From Russia with Love…

moscow_skyline_686x262_tcm76-25487

In less than a month I am due to arrive in Moscow to begin my year abroad, a concept that is daunting to say the very least. I’m almost drowning in well-meaning words that seem to resemble condolences, thick with the implication that it really will be as bad as I fear.

I also, like the ever organised person that I am, have not yet organised a visa. Or booked a flight. Did I mention I won’t be back in the UK for another week and a half? Probably not, I have a tendency to stick my head in the sand and refuse to deal with my problems.

Of course there is the possibility that I will love Russia. It is entirely plausible that I will take to Russia like a fish to water, it will be the ying to my yang, the zig to my zag, the Phineas to my Ferb… We shall see. (You see? I am able to think positively!)

This blog will be a truthful account of my foray into the world of ex-patriotism. Having spent much of my life living abroad, I’m sure I’ll love Russia. This blog will detail the journey to that, beginning fixed with little emotion other than unadulterated dread.

Let’s see what the next year brings!!!

Leave a Reply

